SBTRKT shares “New Dorp.New York” video — watch


With just two weeks to go before the release of Wonder Where We Land, SBTRKT has unveiled the video for the album’s lead single, “New Dorp.New York”.

A shadowy and animated visual, it follows a sneaky, panther-like creature — the same one from the album artwork — as it travels from Staten Island (where the New Dorp neighborhood is located) to Manhattan. I’ve made this commute plenty of times before when I was in college, and while all the usual visual landmarks pop up — the Staten Island Ferry, the Verrazano Bridge, the various skyscrapers — I don’t think it’s ever looked as cool and slick as this. The song’s collaborator, Ezra Koenig of Vampire Weekend, unfortunately doesn’t make an appearance, but I feel his New York City spirit in this Big Apple-centric clip.

Watch below.

Wonder Where We Land hits shelves on October 7th via Young Turks.

Wonder Where We Land Tracklist:
01. Day 1
02. Wonder Where We Land feat. Sampha
03. Lantern
04. Higher feat. Raury
05. Day 5
06. Look Away feat. Caroline Polachek
07. Osea feat. Koreless
08. Temporary View feat. Sampha
09. NEW DORP. NEW YORK feat. Ezra Koenig
10. Everybody Knows
11. Problem (Solved) feat. Jessie Ware
12. If It Happens feat. Sampha
13. Gon Stay feat. Sampha
14. The Light feat. Denai Moore
15. Voices In My Head feat. ASAP Ferg