Stream: Alt-J’s new album This Is All Yours


UK indie rockers Alt-J will release their sophomore album, This Is All Yours, on September 23rd via Warner Music. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full at iTunes Radio.

The band recorded the follow-up to 2012’s Mercury Prize-winning An Awesome Wave in the same venue, Iguana Studios, which they describe as a “tiny little place, sort of behind a second hand tyre shop.” Shortly after the sessions began, bassist Gwil Sainsbury departed from the group in January for undisclosed reasons.

In an interview with Stereogum, keyboardist Gus Unger-Hamilton described the trio’s creative process following Swainsbury’s exit:

I don’t think it was a particularly different process. I think in a way we tried to recreate the environment in which we wrote the first album, which was a group of us sitting around in a nice, comfortable space like an apartment, not at a studio, just hanging out, enjoying each other’s company coming up with ideas. Just making music together in a really — without sounding too corny — in a really sort of like fun, raw way, in a basic way of connecting. And we tried to do that again this time to get the best results.”

The album is preceded by three singles, “Hunger of the Pine”, which samples Miley Cyrus’ “4×4” single; “Left Hand Free”; and “Every Other Freckle”. Below, watch the video for “Left Hand Free”.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

This Is All Yours Tracklist:
01. Intro
02. Arrival In Nara
03. Nara
04. Every Other Freckle
05. Left Hand Free
06. ❦ Garden Of England
07. Choice Kingdom
08. Hunger Of The Pine
09. Warm Foothills
10. The Gospel Of John Hurt
11. Pusher
12. Bloodflood pt.II
13. Leaving Nara