Stream: Aphex Twin’s SYRO, his first new album in 13 years


Enigmatic musician/producer Richard D. James, aka Aphex Twin, will release his first album in 13 years, SYRO, on September 23rd via Warp Records. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full below (via Spotify).

In a recent interview with The FADER, James said he’s been working on SYRO for the last six years. “I’d stockpiled up so much stuff and you can kind of have to draw a line under it somewhere,” he explained. “By banging something out it, it’s like the end of the chapter. It properly draws a line under it and allows you to move on.” Consequently, he added that SYRO will not be a one-off record, but has rather “kicked into gear” a new period of creative output.

In a separate interview with Rolling Stone, James said he recorded most of the album at his home near Glasgow, using his “five and a half studios” to get “different sounds, different results.” You can see a full list of the equipment used here.

James continued:

Yeah, it’s quite erratic. There’s no structure. I really like it. I’ve got some electro-mechanical robots in one room and MIDI pipe organs in another room and a laptop setup in another room. There’s one room that I’ve got stacked full of records. The main one I’ve been using at the moment is a really big, massive room with a high ceiling. It has these towers in it, like a supercomputer from the Seventies. I can go inside my little Cray supercomputer in the day, and people don’t even know I’m in the room. You can kind of hide away in there. My wife will be calling me, ‘Rich!’ My wife is next to me smiling as I’m saying that. She knows my secret.”

As to why he had waited so long to release album, he said it’s because the process can be “a real ball-ache,” adding, “It’s not what I’m interested in. I just like making the stuff. To be honest, I thought, ‘Who’s even interested anymore?’ When Warp was really interested, I was like, ‘Really? Is this a joke or something?’ I kind of expected them to say, ‘No, nobody actually buys any records anymore, mate. Sorry.'”

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

SYRO Tracklist:
01. minipops 67 (source field mix) (aka the manchester track)
02. XMAS_EveT10 (thanaton3 mix)
03. produk 29
04. 4 bit 9d api+e+6
05. 180db_
06. CIRCLONT6A (syrobonkus mix)
07. fz pseudotimestrech+e+3
08. CIRCLONT14 (shrymoming mix)
09. syro u473t8+e (piezoluminescence mix)
10. PAPAT4 (pineal mix)
11. s950tx16wasr10 (earth portal mix)
12. aisatsana