Stream: Avi Buffalo’s new album At Best Cuckold


Long Beach indie rock outfit Avi Buffalo will release their sophomore album, At Best Cuckold, on September 9th via Sub Pop. In anticipation, it’s streaming over at Pitchfork.

The 10-track effort follows up 2010’s self-titled debut. Frontman Avi Zahner-Isenberg and collaborator Sheridan Riley self-produced the record.

A press release describes the album as a “quirky yet comforting set of songs driven by refined pop songcraft and sneaky moments of grandeur that stick in the brain. Classic-sounding melodies are delivered with a modern sensibility, creating an album that’s equal parts timely and timeless. Well-placed piano, sax, clarinet, French horn, and cornet further enhance the proceedings with a glorious orch-pop sheen.”

“I really like some of the ballad aspects of this record — it’s kind of my tribute to the ballad,” Zahner-Isenberg said in a statement. “I predicted in an interview during the time of my first record what I was going to use in my next record, and I said a lot of major seventh chords, which, to me, sounded like laying down. And that ended up in the record, too.”

The album is preceded by two singles, “So What” and “Memories of You”.

Pre-orders are ongoing.

At Best Cuckold Tracklist:
01. So What
02. Memories of You
03. Can’t Be Too Responsible
04. Two Cherished Understandings
05. Overwhelmed with Pride
06. Found Blind
07. She Is Seventeen
08. Think It’s Gonna Happen Again
09. Oxygen Tank
10. Won’t Be Around No More