Stream: Caribou’s new album Our Love

caribou our love

    On October 7th, Canadian musician/producer Dan Snaith will release Our Love, the first album under his Caribou moniker in over four years. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full via iTunes Radio.

    Caribou’s sixth studio album to date, and first since 2010’s Swim, is a 10-track effort featuring collaborations with Owen Pallett and Jessy Lanza. It was mixed by David Wrench and comes packaged in artwork designed by Jason Evans and Matthew Cooper (that’s it up above).

    A press release describes Our Love as Caribou’s “most soulful record to date, chock-full of heartfelt lyrics and organic nature which cuts through bubbling synths and blissful euphoria of their synthetic construction.”


    In an interview with Rolling Stone, Snaith said that his “initial impulse was to make something for everybody to listen to,” adding, “And that’s such a shift for me. There’s more of me in the music than there ever has been, for sure. It used to be that I closed the doors, and the only thing that ended up in the music was whatever was spontaneously generated there and then. Now it’s much more typical that I’ll get to work for a couple hours on something, then I’ll take my daughter to a museum with some friends of ours. Everything is happening all at the same time and bottled up together. And I think that’s good.”

    Snaith said much of his inspiration came from the birth of his daughter back in August 2011: “Everything in love – with a partner or with a child or with your family or with your friends – all those things are complicated. I hadn’t had those experiences before, the frustrations of having somebody that is not responding rationally or even understanding what you’re saying. One of the main things I took away from it was that the most important thing is just being there in each other’s presence. There are a lot of times where my daughter and I are just, like, sitting on the floor with a Lego or something, and that’s the important thing.”

    The album is preceded by two singles, “Can’t Do Without You” and the title trackPre-orders for the album are ongoing.

    Our Love Tracklist:
    01. Can’t Do Without You
    02. Silver
    03. All I Ever Need
    04. Our Love
    05. Dive
    06. Second Chance
    07. Julia Brightly
    08. Mars
    09. Back Home
    10. Your Love Will Set You Free

Latest Stories