Stream: Christopher Owens’ new album A New Testament


Singer-songwriter and former Girls frontman Christopher Owens will release his sophomore solo album, A New Testament, on September 29th via Turnstile Records. For an advanced listen, it’s streaming in full at Pitchfork.

Owens’ latest 12-track effort follows up on his 2013 solo debut, Lysandre. The album was recorded with producer Doug Boehm, who also produced Girls’ sophomore album Father, Son, Holy GhostOwens brings over genres from his previous projects for this newest release, delving into gospel and honky tonk.

“Every new album is a new testament,” Owens said in a statement. “It’s a testament to honest, earnest, simple songwriting — ‘three chords and the truth,’ songs inspired by the fundamentals of American music–Gospel, Country, R&B, picking the songs for this record was exciting enough for me, because they’re some of the ones that speak to me the most, of my memories, real life experiences, my battles, my victories. But hearing the record actually take form and come to life was even more exciting than I imagined.”

The album is preceded by three singles, “Stephen”, “Nothing More Than Everything To Me”, and “Never Wanna See That Look Again”.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

A New Testament Tracklist:
01. My Troubled Heart
02. Nothing More Than Everything To Me
03. It Comes Back To You
04. Stephen
05. Oh My Love
06. Nobody’s Business
07. A Heart Akin The Wind
08. Key To My Heart
09. Over And Above Myself
10. Never Wanna See That Look Again
11. Overcoming Me
12. I Just Can’t Live Without You (But I’m Still Alive)