Stream: Death From Above 1979’s The Physical World, their first new album in 10 years


Toronto punk outfit Death from Above 1979 will release their sophomore album, The Physical World, on September 9th via Last Gang Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full via iTunes.

The 11-track effort marks the band’s first album in 10 years following 2004’s You’re a Woman, I’m a MachineThough DFA broke up in 2006 over creative differences, they’ve resurfaced in the past three years for a number of live performances.

In an interview with NME, drummer/vocalist Sebastian Grainger discussed the pressure from fans to put out more material. “No matter what Jesse [Keeler] and I do, on whatever scale of success it’s sat on, there’s always some kind of reference to Death from Above,” Grainger said. “It’s only frustrating because it’s so lazy. So we’re putting out a Death from Above record and if the press is like, ‘It’s not what we expected,’ or however they react to it, it’s like, ‘Well, you’ve been fucking asking for it.’”

He added that the new album is a driving force behind their upcoming tour, saying, “It will permit us to go play the shows we want to play and it gives us the freedom to do what we want.”

The album is preceded by two singles, “Trainwreck 1979” and “Government Trash”.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

The Physical World Tracklist:
01. Cheap Talk
02. Right On, Frankenstein!
03. Virgins
04. Always On
05. Crystal Ball
06. White Is Red
07. Trainwreck 1979
08. Nothin’ Left
09. Government Trash
10. Gemini
11. The Physical World