Stream: Delta Spirit’s new album Into the Wide


Roots rockers Delta Spirit will release their fourth studio album, Into the Wide, on September 9th via Dualtone Records. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full below (via Exclaim).

The band spent a year writing the follow-up to their 2012 self-titled album in a “flood-ruined, cave-like, rat-colonized room” in their new homebase of Brooklyn. “That sense of feeling trapped in our studio and in the city definitely gave the album more of a weight than our previous records,” said multi-instrumentalist Kelly Winrich. “It played a big part in this being our moodiest recording yet.”

When writing wrapped up, the band hightailed it to Atlanta’s Maze Studios, where they teamed up with producer Ben Allen (Deerhunter, Animal Collective, Cut Copy). According to a press release, Allen helped “breathe new life and brighter energy into the songs, while still capturing the claustrophobia of their creative writing space.”

The primary focus, though, was emphasizing the band’s rollicking live show. “We just want the songs to be as epic and meaningful as possible when we play them in front of people, which is the be-all and end-all for us as a band,” said singer-guitarist Matt Vasquez.

The album is preceded by two singles, “From Now On” and “Live On”.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

Into the Wide Tracklist:
01. Push It
02. From Now On
03. Live On
04. Take Shelter
05. Hold My End Up
06. Into the Wide
07. Language of the Dead
08. For My Enemy
09. Patriarch
10. Interlude
11. War Machine
12. The Wreck