Stream: Mr Twin Sister’s new self-titled album


Long Island dream pop outfit Mr Twin Sister will release its self-titled sophomore album on September 23rd via Twin Group/Infinite Best. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full at Pitchfork.

Back in May, just prior to the album’s announcement, the band changed its name from Twin Sister to the current moniker. In a recent interview, Bryan Ujueta explained the decision wasn’t “something we intentionally planned from the beginning, like a Hollywood movie.” He added, “But as it rolled out, it made sense. I was frustrated — people were like, “Why the fuck would you change your name?” They thought it was a gimmick. ‘You think we renamed ourselves Mr Twin Sister to get more popular?! You think that’s going to sell records? Are you crazy?”

According to reports, the band changed its name to better reflect the new album’s exploration of gender identity and politics. Added Gabe D’Amico, “We left the gender ideas at a simmering point on the album. I don’t think any of us feel like we have license to talk about it in an authoritative way. We’re not trying to ride some hot-button talking point. It’s just subject matter that interests some of our songwriters. It’s not like, ‘This is our sexual-politics album!’ That’s for other people to project onto it. Good pop music lets you draw connections, but it’s not exclusive.”

Musically, the eight track-album has a clear EDM/club music influence, a marked departure from 2011’s In Heaven. “We’ve learned how to play to our strengths—whether its our chemistry,” D’Amico said, “or the way we are more interested in groove than technical skill. We’re not accomplished musicians, necessarily. We’re just accomplished musical communicators with each other.”

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

Mr Twin Sister Tracklist:
01. Sensitive
02. Rude Boy
03. In The House Of Yes
04. Blush
05. Out Of The Dark
06. Twelve Angels
07. Medford
08. Crime Scene