Stream: Robert Plant’s new album, lullaby and… The Ceaseless Roar


Robert Plant will release his latest solo album, lullaby and… The Ceaseless Roar, on September 9th via Nonesuch Records. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full at

Self-produced by Plant, the 11-track effort was co-written alongside his band, The Sensational Space Shifters. According to a press release, lullaby is a “celebratory record, powerful, gritty, African, Trance meets Zep.”

Plant said he initially doubted his his writing ability after lengthy touring behind 2010’s Band of Joy, which featured songs penned mostly by others. “After I came back to England, I wondered, could I actually write?” he said in a press release. “Did I have anything left? Not knowing and not being really convinced I had anything of my own because I’d been singing other people’s songs for a long time.”

The trick, he explained, was to turn his focus inward, “In the beginnings of my efforts to write songs, when I first met Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones, I was just trying to join in with the times and what was going on and use what I’d learned from Dion and Howlin’ Wolf,” he said. “Now I have a whole index, an absolute rainbow, of influences. I need to talk about what’s going on in my life, in my lap, speaking from my experience; it’s far more honest and much more appropriate.”

The album is preceded by “Rainbow”. Below, watch the corresponding video.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

lullaby and… The Ceaseless Roar Tracklist:
01. Little Maggie
02. Rainbow
03. Pocketful of Golden
04. Embrace Another Fall
05. Turn It Up
06. A Stolen Kiss
07. Somebody There
08. Poor Howard *
09. House of Love
10. Up on the Hollow Hill (Understanding Arthur)
11. Arbaden (Maggie’s Babby)