The Men offshoot Dream Police share new song “Hypnotized” — listen


Dream Police is the garage rock side project The Men’s Nick Chiericozzi and Mark Perro. The duo initially launched the band as an outlet to work on material not used on The Men’s albums. However, things began to pick up when collaborator Kyle Keays-Hagerman was added to the fold in 2013. Together they recorded enough material for a debut album entitled, Hypnotized, which will be released on November 11th via Sacred Bones. As a preview of the eight-track effort, the band has shared its title track.

Unlike the somewhat twangy and rustic brand of rock music played by The Men, “Hypnotized” finds Dream Police diving into more fuzzy, psychedelic, and bombastic territory. Opening with a series of guitar riffs hearkening back to ’80s stadium rock, the song ventures into new wave territory with the pulsating bass line, drum machines, and the repeated refrain of “I’m hypnotized.” Listen in below.

Hypnotized Tracklist:
01. Hypnotized
02. My Mama’s Dead
03. Iris
04. Pouring Rain
05. All We Are
06. John
07. Let It Be
08. Sandy