The Who release first new song in eight years “Be Lucky” — listen


The Who will mark their 50th anniversary with the release of a new career-spanning archival set. Without a doubt, the biggest highlight of The Who Hits 50! is the inclusion of the band’s first new song in eight years.

According to Rolling Stone, Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend recorded “Be Lucky” alongside Zak Starkey, bassist Pino Pallodino, keyboardist Mick Talbot, and producer Dave Eringa. The song marks the band’s first new release since their 2006 comeback album, Endless Wire.

Update: Listen to “Be Lucky” below. And yes — there’s a Daft Punk reference.

Due out October 27th, The Who Hits 50! also includes 41 greatest hits spanning the band’s entire catalog. See the full tracklist below.

Next year, The Who plan to embark on a final world tour.

The Who Hits 50! Tracklist:

Disc 1:
01. Zoot Suit (The High Numbers)
02. I Can’t Explain
03. Anyway Anyhow Anywhere
04. My Generation
05. Substitute”
06. The Kids Are Alright
07. I’m A Boy
08. Happy Jack
09. Boris The Spider
10. Pictures Of Lily
11. The Last Time
12. I Can See For Miles
13. Call Me Lightning
14. Dogs
15. Magic Bus
16. Pinball Wizard
17. I’m Free
18. The Seeker
19. Summertime Blues (live)
20. See Me, Feel Me
21. Won’t Get Fooled Again (single edit)
22. Let’s See Action
23. Bargain
24. Behind Blue Eyes

Disc 2

25. Baba O’ Riley
26. Join Together
27. Relay
28. 5:15
29. Love Reign O’er Me
30. Postcard
31. Squeeze Box
32. Slip Kid
33. Who Are You
34. Trick Of The Light
35. You Better You Bet
36. Don’t Let The Coat
37. Athena
38. Eminence Front
39. It’s Hard
40. Real Good Looking Boy
41. It’s Not Enough
42. Be Lucky