Trent Reznor sets release date for Gone Girl soundtrack, reveals 24-song tracklist


In just one week’s time, you’ll hear a brand new album from Trent Reznor. The Nine Inch Nails mastermind has announced a release date for his original score to David Fincher’s latest film, Gone Girl.

According to Nine Inch Nails’ website (via Film Music Reporter), the album will be available digitally on September 30th and as a double LP at a later date. The tracklist spans an impressive 24 songs, led by “The Way He Looks At Me”, which was released over the weekend.

Gone Girl marks the third collaboration between Reznor and Fincher, who previously teamed on 2010’s The Social Network and 2011’s The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. The former earned Reznor and collaborator Atticus Ross an Oscar for Best Original Score, while the latter was nominated for Best Original Score at the Golden Globes.

(Read: 10 Film Scores That Should Be Performed Live)

Fincher’s latest film, an adaptation of Gillian Flynn’s 2012 thriller, stars Ben Affleck as the primary suspect in the murder investigation of his wife (played by Rosamund Pike). For the soundtrack, Reznor said Fincher asked him to “think about the really terrible music you hear in massage parlors. The way that it artificially tries to make you feel like everything’s OK. And then imagine that sound starting to curdle and unravel.”

Gone Girl is set to hit theaters on October 3rd.

Gone Girl Soundtrack Tracklist:
01. What Have We Done To Each Other?
02. Sugar Storm
03. Empty Places
04. With Suspicion
05. Just Like You
06. Appearances
07. Clue One
08. Clue Two
09. Background Noise
10. Procedural
11. Something Disposable
12. Like Home
13. Empty Places (Reprise)
14. The Way He Looks At Me
15. Technically, Missing
16. Secrets
17. Perpetual
18. Strange Activities
19. Still Gone
20. A Reflection
21. Consummation
22. Sugar Storm (Reprise)
23. What Will We Do?
24. At Risk