Ultimate Painting release new song “Ten Street” — listen


Composed of Veronica Falls’ James Hoare and Mazes’ Jack Cooper, Ultimate Painting is an indie pop duo specializing in retro-minded, perpetually relaxed songs. On October 28th, Trouble in Mind Records will release their self-titled debut album, which contains the buoyant slacker-jam lead single “Winter in Your Heart”. Today, the band returns with another taste of the 10-track LP in “Ten Street”.

The Ultimate Painting formula is rather simple: boil rock music down to its simplest and mot jangly core. In this particular instance, that means a stream of fuzzy solos, accompanied by a lackadaisical, slightly distorted rhythm section. Though the music is hardly flashy, the duo pour the spirit of The Kinks and The Velvet Underground into simple but effective lines like “I don’t know the reason for this desperation.”

Listen in below (via Stereogum).

Ultimate Painting Tracklist:
01. Ultimate Painting
02. Can’t You See
03. Talking Central Park Blues
04. Riverside
05. Ten Street
06. Rolling in the Deep End
07. Three Piers
08. Jane
09. She’s A Boom
10. Winter in Your Heart