Underworld shares previously unreleased demo of “Dark & Long” — listen


UK electronic duo Underworld are set to release a deluxe reissue of their seminal 1994 album, dubnobasswithmyheadman, on October 6. Already we’ve heard a few rarities from the five-disc set, including demos of “Birdstar” and “Cowgirl”. Now, the group has shared a previously unreleased version of album opener “Dark & Long”.

Interestingly, the demo doesn’t stray too much from the album version. Instead, it plays more like an extended jam of the track, clocking in at two minutes longer than the final mix. The biggest difference comes with the extended introduction, allowing the booming bass claps to ease in for a while longer before introducing frontman Karl Hyde’s darkening vocals. The longer run time makes it even easier to get lost in the brooding synthesizers and rumbling drum samples, so prepare to be taken away and listen in below.

Here’s the original for comparison:

To coincide with the release, Underworld will perform dubnobasswithmyheadman in full on October 11th at London’s Royal Festival Hall.

Dubnobasswithmyheadman Reissue Tracklist:

CD 1 – dubnobasswithmyheadman (Remastered)

01. Dark & Long
02. Mmm…Skyscraper I Love You
03. Surfboy
04. Spoonman
05. Tongue
06. Dirty Epic
07. Cowgirl
08. River Of Bass
09. M.E

CD2 Singles 1991 – 1994

01. The Hump (Wild Beast)
02. Eclipse (Released As Lemon Interrupt)
03. Rez
04. Dirty (Released As Lemon Interrupt)
05. Dirtyguitar
06. Dark & Long (Hall’s Edit)
07. Dark & Long (Dark Train)
08. Spikee

CD3 Remixes 1992 – 1994

01. Mmm…Skyscraper I Love You (Jam Scraper)
02. Cowgirl (Irish Pub In Kyoto Mix)
03. Dark & Long (Most ‘Ospitable Mix)
04. Mmm…Skyscraper I Love You (Telegraph 16.11.92)
05. Dark & Long (Burts Mix)
06. Dogman Go Woof
07. Dark & Long (Thing In A Book Mix)

CD4 Previously Unreleased Recordings

01. Concord (3 Comp75 id9 A1771 Aug 93A)
02. Dark & Long (1struffid3A15512)
03. Mmm…Skyscraper I Love You (A1765 Sky Version id4. Harmone6 COMP43)
04. Mmm…Skyscraper I Love You (After sky id6 1551 2)
05. Can You Feel Me? (from A4796)
06. Birdstar (A1558 Nov 92B.1)
07. Dirty Epic (Dirty Ambi Piano A1764 Oct 91)
08. Spoonman (version1 A1559 Nov92)
09. Organ (Eclipse version from A4796)
10. Cowgirl (AltCowgirlC69MixfromA1564)

CD5 Live Jam Kyme Rd (Previously unreleased live rehearsal recorded in the band’s home studio in 1993)

01. Mmm…Skyscraper I Love You
02. Improv 1
03. Bigmouth
04. Improv 2
05. Big Meat Show
06. Improv 3
07. Spoonman