Andy Stott shares brooding song “Faith in Strangers” — listen

On November 17th, experimental UK producer Andy Stott will release his new album, Faith in Strangers, via Modern Love. The follow-up to 2012’s Luxury Problems is said to feature “an array of instruments, field records, found sounds, and vocal treatments,” according a press release.

Our latest preview of the LP comes courtesy of the title track. Much like the previous offering “Violence”, “Faith in Strangers” leads in with a wondrous, almost calming, blend of thumping beats and entrancing synth arrangements. However, it’s not long before Stott crosses over into the dark side: Using lurching bass guitars and the roar of what sounds like a blood-thirsty buzz saw, he conjures a mood of sinister unease. Perhaps the lesson here is one ought to not have too much faith in strangers?

Listen in below.

Faith in Strangers Tracklist:
01. Time Away
02. Violence
03. On Oath
04. Science & Industry
05. No Surrender
06. How It Was
07. Damage
08. Faith in Strangers
09. Missing


Follow Consequence