Cold War Kids share new song “Hot Coals” — listen

On October 21st, Cold War Kids will release their fifth album, Hold My Home, via Downtown Records. Coming just 18 months after Dear Miss Lonelyhearts, the 11-track effort achieves a similar balance of less polished, blues-inspired indie rock and striving-for-stadiums power pop. The band teased this raucous-meets-romantic mix with “All This Could Be Yours” and “First”; and today, they offer another taste of the LP with “Hot Coals”.

Unlike its predecessors, “Hot Coals” goes for the gut with a greater sense of immediacy. The clatter of jagged, slightly shambolic guitars, four-to-the-floor drums, and Nathan Willett’s manic yelping make for a rock jam brimming with unbridled anxiousness. Yet the way all the instruments seem to waltz together, plus the quieter moments of blues-colored contemplation, and it’s clear this track has a pronounced core of poppy romanticism and emotional deliberateness.

Listen in below (via NME).

Hold My Home Tracklist:
01. All This Could Be Yours
02. First
03. Hot Coals
04. Drive Desperate
05. Hotel Anywhere
06. Go Quietly
07. Nights & Weekends
08. Hold My Home
09. Flower Drum Song
10. Harold Bloom
11. Hear My Baby Call


Follow Consequence