Hear unreleased Bob Dylan song “Spanish Mary” performed by Elvis Costello, Marcus Mumford, and Jim James

The New Basement Tapes is the moniker of the supergroup/tribute band comprised of Elvis Costello, Marcus Mumford (Mumford & Sons), Jim James (My Morning Jacket), Rhiannon Giddens (Carolina Chocolate Drops), and Taylor Goldsmith (Dawes). For their upcoming T-Bone Burnett produced record, Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes, the group paired newly recorded with unreleased Dylan lyrics from his 1967 Basement Tapes era. Already we’ve heard their renditions of “Nothing To It”, “Married To My Hack”, and “When I Get My Hands On You”. Now Giddens takes the lead on the album’s latest single, “Spanish Mary”.

“Out of all the lyrics I looked through for the New Basement Tapes project, the one for “Spanish Mary” attracted me first – here was a ballad, and I know ballads!” Giddens said in a statement. “It’s also set in the Caribbean, so I felt the deep African sound of the minstrel style banjo (circa 1856) was appropriate. It was an absolute thrill to get to set music to Dylan’s lyrics, what an opportunity! This project is marked with utter generosity from everyone involved.”

Watch the lyric video below.

Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes Tracklist:
01. Down On The Bottom
02. Married To My Hack
03. Kansas City
04. Spanish Mary
05. Liberty Street
06. Nothing To It
07. Golden Tom – Silver Judas *
08. When I Get My Hands On You
09. Duncan and Jimmy
10. Florida Key
11. Hidee Hidee Ho #11
12. Lost On The River #12
13. Stranger
14. Card Shark
15. Quick Like A Flash *
16. Hidee Hidee Ho #16 *
17. Diamond Ring *
18. The Whistle Is Blowing *
19. Six Months In Kansas City (Liberty Street)
20. Lost On The River #20

* = Deluxe edition only


Follow Consequence