Jessie Ware shares new song “Pieces” — listen


From the tracks released thus far, it seems UK singer Jessie Ware recorded her upcoming sophomore album, Tough Love, with the intention of showing just how multi-faceted a love song can be. There’s the especially pop, radio-ready “Say You Love Me”; the bouncy disco of “Want Your Feeling”; the title track’s mournful undertones; and the sensuous, Miguel-aided “Kind Of … Sometimes … Maybe”.

Today, Ware unveils another romantic ode with “Pieces”. For this latest ballad, Ware worked alongside Emile Haynie, who previously produced for Kanye West and Lana Del Rey (in fact, he handled the bulk of Born To Die). Haynie brings to the table lush, string-heavy instrumentation, a compelling mixture of both theatricality and genuine elegance. It’s a little over-the-top at times, but it’s the perfect backdrop for Ware, as her pained croon about love-gone-wrong makes the song’s soaring qualities feel less pompous and more utterly visceral.

Listen in below.

Tough Love hits stores on October 21st via PMR/Island Records.

Tough Love Tracklist:
01. Tough Love
02. You & I (Forever)
03. Cruel
04. Say You Love Me
05. Sweetest Song
06. Kind of…Sometimes…Maybe
07. Want Your Feeling
08. Pieces
09. Keep on Lying
10. Champagne Kisses
11. Desire