Jessie Ware shares unreleased song “12” — listen

For her upcoming sophomore album, Tough Love, UK songstress Jessie Ware enlisted a bevy of producers and guest singers, including Miguel, Ed Sheeran, BenZel, Julio Bashmore, The Invisible’s Dave Okumu, and Kid Harpoon. However, one collaboration that didn’t make the final cut sees Ware teaming with Rhye’s Robin Hannibal and English producer Salva for a track entitled “12”.

Today, Ware has shared a demo version of the track, and though it may be slightly unpolished, it fits nicely with the romantic aesthetic she’s purveyed with the album’s preceding singles. Salva’s production hits that sensuous sweet spot between minimalist R&B and rumbling electropop, a lusty medley of satiny synths, body-moving drums and bass, and some extra velvety guitars. In and of itself, Ware’s evocative croon is enough to generate copious amounts of sex appeal; lucky for her, Hannibal is there to provide falsetto harmonies that truly seal the deal.

In an accompanying statement, Ware wrote, “I made ’12’ with Robin Hannibal last year at Red Bull Studios London. Loved him since hearing Quadron’s Average Fruit and although this track never made it onto ’Tough Love’, it was a joy to work with Robin finally. This is a song for my Sam and I hope you like it, play it late and go kiss someone.”

Listen in below.

Tough Love hits stores on October 21st via PMR/Island Records. Of the album’s 11 tracks, we’ve already heard “Say You Love Me”; “Want Your Feeling”; the title track; the Miguel-aided “Kind Of … Sometimes … Maybe”; and “Pieces”.

Tough Love Tracklist:
01. Tough Love
02. You & I (Forever)
03. Cruel
04. Say You Love Me
05. Sweetest Song
06. Kind of…Sometimes…Maybe
07. Want Your Feeling
08. Pieces
09. Keep on Lying
10. Champagne Kisses
11. Desire


Follow Consequence