Parquet Courts announce new album as Parkay Quarts, Content Nausea

Next month, when Parquet Courts embark on their European tour, they’ll do so under the moniker of Parkay Quarts. Today, the Brooklyn indie rockers have announced a new full-length album, which will also be attributed to the Parkay Quarts moniker. Entitled Content Nausea, it comes just five months after the band’s previous LP, Sunbathing Animal, out digitally November 11th and on vinyl December 2nd.

According to a press release, the name change reflects this particular configuration’s lineup: “With one member completing a degree in mathematics, and another starting a family, Content Nausea features mostly the work of Andrew Savage and Austin Brown, with the help of a few friends — Jackie-O Motherfucker’s Jef Brown on saxophone and Eaters’ Bob Jones on fiddle.” Touted as the “band’s most accessible and dissonant recordings,” the 12-track effort was recorded, mixed, and mastered on a four-track tape machine in just under two weeks.

The press release adds, “Content Nausea is the inevitable repercussion to Sunbathing Animal’s pure emotion. Mostly, Content Nausea reflects the rapid change in the band’s hometown of New York City, while at the same time emphasizing the changes in the band itself. The record’s sleeve is a bleak vision of Freedom-Tower-era NYC flooded by (what else?) content. A city that is becoming increasingly unrecognizable to its romantic history. Not unlike Parkay Quarts.”

As a preview of its transformation, the collective has shared album closer, “Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth”. Described as the tale of “two men tragically colliding in the deep south,” the track is a kind of Lou Reed-ian ballad, comprised of slow, jangly guitars, the distinct hum of organs, and moody vocals brimming with morose. It’s not all that different from the material of Sunbathing Animal, but the extra sheen of drama definitely merits the distinction of a “new” band.

Listen in below.

Performing as Parquet Courts, the band will begin a brief US tour next week, before departing to the UK and the Europe in early November. Consult their full tour schedule here.

Content Nausea Tracklist:
01. Everyday It Starts
02. Content Nausea
03. Urban Ease
04. Slide Machine
05. Kevlar Walls
06. Pretty Machines
07. Psycho Structures
08. The Map
09. These Boots
10. Insufferable
11. No Concept
12. Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth


Follow Consequence