Röyksopp share new songs “You Know I Have To Go” and “Sordid Affair” — listen

Norwegian electronic duo Röyksopp will return with their fifth and final album, The Inevitable End, on November 11th via Interscope/Cherrytree Records. Of the album’s 12 tracks, we’ve already heard the reworked Robyn collaboration “Monument” and the uber theatrical “Skulls”.

Today, the pair unveil “You Know I Have To Go”, which features vocals from Jamie McDermott of UK art pop outfit The Irrepressibles. As promised, Röyksopp are exploring much darker territory, with McDermott’s dramatic croon the perfect vehicle for lyrics that encapsulate the pain and heartache that comes with separation of any kind. Sonically, the duo offers up something a bit more nuanced: While the slow, rumbling synths scream emotional devastation, there’s a tinge of ambiance that makes this long goodbye feel a bit more majestic and life-affirming.

In a statement, Röyksopp had this to say about the song: “The attraction and the doubt; the dilemma as whether to succumb to one’s feelings or not. The sheer length of the track is meant to illustrate the prolonging internal struggle between reason and lust.”

Listen to the song here.

Update: Röyksopp has shared another song entitled, “Sordid Affair”. In a statement, the pair said the song is a “a recollection and contemplation of the emotional aspects of the endeavours as described in the track title. The difficulties of letting go of emotional attachments – even those of a questionable nature.” Listen to it below.

The Inevitable End Tracklist:
01. Skulls
02. Monument feat. Robyn (T.I.E. Version)
03. Sordid Affair feat. Ryan James of Man Without Country
04. You Know I Have To Go feat. Jamie McDermott of The Irrepressibles
05. Save Me feat. Susanne Sundfør
06. I Had This Thing feat. Jamie McDermott of the Irrepressibles
07. Rong feat. Robyn
08. Here She Comes Again feat. Jamie McDermott of the Irrepressibles
09. Running to the Sea feat. Susanne Sundfør
10. Compulsion feat. Jamie McDermott of the Irrepressibles
11. Coup de Grace
12. Thank You


Follow Consequence