Run the Jewels team with Zack De La Rocha for “Close Your Eyes (And Count To Fuck)” — listen

El-P and Killer Mike, tka Run the Jewels, team up with Rage Against the Machine’s Zack De La Rocha for the latest preview of their upcoming sophomore album, RTJ2. In addition to having an incredibly awesome title, “Close Your Eyes (And Count To Fuck)” is a straightforward banger, with De La Rocha’s vocals cut up into pieces and tossed into the mix with some undulating drums and skewered studio samples. The Rage vocalists also gets time to drop a quick, extra dirty verse that nabs the gold star for best line thanks to “Phillip A.K. Dickin’ you.” Though El-P and Mike’s extended, tag-team-style joke about conjugal visits definitely secures a close second.

In a statement, El-P explained how the collaboration came together: “We (Zack and I) worked on music together in the late ’90s after Rage broke up but it never came out. We remained friends, though, and when I was in L.A. working on the record I bumped in to him literally on the way to the studio. He came by and listened to what we had and a day later was recording with us.”

Listen in below (via Buzzfeed).

RTJ2 is due out October 28th via Mass Appeal Records. Spanning 11 tracks, the album features additional collaborations with Blink 182’s Travis Barker, Beyoncé collaborators Boots, and Foxygen offshoot Diane Coffee. Listen to the previous singles, “Blockbuster Night” and “Oh My Darling Don’t Cry”.

In related news, the Kickstarter for the remix album “Meow the Jewels” is less than $7,000 away from being funded.

RJT2 Tracklist:
01. Jeopardy
02. Oh My Darling Don’t Cry
03. Blockbuster Night Part 1
04. Close Your Eyes (And Count to Fuck) (feat. Zack de la Rocha)
05. All My Life
06. Lie, Cheat, Steal
07. Early (feat. BOOTS)
08. All Due Respect (feat. Travis Barker)
09. Love Again (Akinyele Back)
10. Crown (feat. Diane Coffee)
11. Angel Duster


Follow Consequence