Smashing Pumpkins share new single “Being Beige” — listen

Billy Corgan has released the first track from Smashing Pumpkins’ forthcoming album, Monuments To An Elegy. Entitled “Being Beige”, it’s an emotive number whose sparse acoustic beginnings eventually bloom and give way to a rich, rousing chorus. “The world’s on fire,” Corgan sings repeatedly, as a mix of drums (supplied by none other than Tommy Lee) and guitars crash and burn behind him. Listen below.

Speaking to Rolling Stone, Corgan said of the track, “People always ask me to explain songs, and honestly I can’t. But if there’s honesty in this lyric, it’s that there’s something amiss in our cosmos. Yet still, we must love.”

Due out December 9th, Monuments to an Elegy is the first of two new albums from the Smashing Pumpkins due out over the next year.

Monuments To An Elegy Tracklist:
01. Being Beige (World’s on Fire)
02. Anti-Hero
03. Tiberius
04. Run to Me
05. One and All
06. Drum and Life
07. Dorian
08. Monuments
09. Anaise


Follow Consequence