Stream: Flying Lotus’ new album You’re Dead!

Super-producer Flying Lotus will release his fifth studio album, You’re Dead!, on October 7th via Warp Records. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full for the next 24 hours. It’s accompanied by a short film titled Psychedelic Death Trip by Xavier Magot. Watch below.

Update: Spotify users can stream the album below.

The follow-up to 2012’s Until the Quiet Comes spans 19 tracks and includes collaborations with Kendrick Lamar, Herbie Hancock, ex-Dirty Projectors member Angel Deradoorian, Snoop Dogg, and Thundercat. FlyLo’s hip-hop alter ego Captain Murphy is also featured on two tracks.

In an interview with Rolling Stone, FlyLo said he began working on the LP some two years ago, originally setting out to make a jazz record. “The original idea was that it was going to be purely traditional instruments and more like from a hard bop kind of standpoint. I wanted to do these crazy hard bop breaks – like, 30 minutes of very short jazz breaks. That was the original idea of it: just to make the fastest, hardest, most intense jazz record.”

However, at some point in the recording process, he shifted his goals entirely. “There was just so much more to say musically. I thought, ‘What if we did everything we possibly could? What if I try to go as deep into this shit as I possibly could, with the resources that I have, the musicians around me? How far could I go?’ You know, as my own personal exercise. More than anything, I just thought to myself, ‘I’d rather put something out that’s completely unique than try to do something that’s been done before.'”

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

You’re Dead! Tracklist:
01. Theme
02. Tesla (feat. Herbie Hancock)
03. Cold Dead
04. Fkn Dead
05. Never Catch Me (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
06. Dead Man’s Tetris (feat. Captain Murphy & Snoop Dogg)
07. Turkey Dog Coma
08. Stirring
09. Coronus, the Terminator
10. Siren Song (feat. Angel Deradoorian)
11. Turtles
12. Ready Err Not
13. Eyes Above
14. Moment of Hesitation (feat. Herbie Hancock)
15. Descent Into Madness (feat. Thundercat)
16. The Boy Who Died in Their Sleep (feat. Captain Murphy)
17. Obligatory Cadence
18. Your Potential // The Beyond (feat. Niki Randa)
19. The Protest


Follow Consequence