Stream: Red Hot’s star-studded Arthur Russell tribute album

On October 21st, AIDS charity Red Hot Organization will pay tribute to late singer-songwriter Arthur Russell with a star-studded charity compilation. Entitled Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell, and due out via Yep Roc, the 26-track offering is streaming in full at

The compilation features covers from Robyn (“Tell You”), Sufjan Stevens (“A Little Lost”), Glen Hansard, Hot Chip (“Go Bang”), Blood Orange, Phosphorescent, Devendra Banhart, Jose Gonzalez, Cults, Arcade Fire’s Richard Reed Parry, Scissor Sisters, Thao & the Get Down Stay Down, Colin Stetson, Sam Amidon, Lonnie Holley, The Autumn Defense, Rubblebucket, and many more.

According to a press release, “Master Mix embodies the genre-defying, experimental spirit that defined Russell’s work. Living in the East Village from the ‘70s until his untimely death in 1992 at age 40 from AIDS-related causes, Russell moved effortlessly between the city’s various music scenes, recording disco beats alongside Nicky Siano one night, and the next, crafting slow, haunting tracks in his apartment with his cello and idiosyncratic warbling voice. Through his collaborations, he earned the admiration of artists like Allen Ginsberg, David Byrne and Philip Glass, who said of Russell’s music: ‘It does not submit to formula, but subverts the formula.'”

Pre-orders for the compilation are ongoing. Below, watch Hot Chip explain their cover and interest in the project.

Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell Tracklist:
01. Jose Gonzalez – “This Is How We Walk On The Moon”
02. Lonnie Holley – “Soon-To-Be Innocent Fun (Interlude)”
03. Robyn – “Tell You”
04. Hot Chip – “Go Bang”
05. Sufjan Stevens – “A Little Lost”
06. Lonnie Holley – “In The Light Of The Miracle (Interlude)”
07. Richard Reed Parry, Little Scream, Sam Amidon, Colin Stetson & Sarah Neufeld – “Keeping Up”
08. Liam Finn, Ernie Brooks & Peter Zummo – “This Love Is Crying”
09. Rubblebucket & Nitemoves – “Eli”
10. The Revival Hour – “Hiding Your Present from You”
11. Sam Amidon – “Lucky Cloud”
12. Devendra Banhart – “Losing My Taste For The Night Life”
13. Phosphorescent – “You Can Make Me Feel Bad”
14. Blood Orange – “Is It All Over My Face & Tower Of Meaning”
15. Scissor Sisters – “That’s Us/Wild Combination”
16. VEGA INTL. – “Arm Around You”
17. Oh Mercy – “Planted A Thought”
18. Lonnie Holley – “Hop On Down (Interlude)”
19. Cults – “Being It”
20. Richard Reed Parry – “Just A Blip”
21. Glen Hansard – “I Couldn’t Say It To Your Face”
22. Thao & The Get Down Stay Down – “Nobody Wants A Lonely Heart”
23. The Autumn Defense – “Oh Fernanda Why”
24. Alexis Taylor – “Our Last Night Together”
25. Lonnie Holley – “The Deer In The Forest (Interlude)”
26. Redding Hunter – “Close My Eyes”


Follow Consequence