Stream: The Smith Street Band’s new album Throw Me in the River


Australian punk outfit The Smith Street Band will release their third album, Throw Me in the River, on October 28th via Poison City Records. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full below.

Following the release of last year’s Don’t Fuck With Our Dreams EP, the group holed up in a cottage in the woods of Victoria, Australia to record their follow-up full-length. Producer Jeff Rosenstock (Bomb The Music Industry) and mixer Jonathan Low (The National, The War On Drugs) joined the sessions as well. Cabin fever wasn’t an issue, however, as the band took a break during the sessions to complete a sold-out tour of Australia.

Hitting the road while working on a record isn’t a surprising move considering how relentlessly the band toured between2012’s Sunshine and Technology and Don’t Fuck With Our Dreams. In fact, touring so heavily had a major impact on the recording processes, as a press release calls the 11-track album “a snapshot of the last few years of their hectic lives.” It goes on to say that “the album is a virtual passport to their global rise, with songs written in Winnipeg, Salt Lake City, Calgary, London, New York and North Melbourne, amongst others.”

Pre-orders are ongoing.

Throw Me In The River Tracklist
01. Something I Can Hold In My Hands
02. Surrender
03. Surrey Drive
04. Calgary Girls
05. East London Summer
06. The Arrogance Of A Drunk Pedestrian
07. Get High, See No One
08. I Don’t Wanna Die Anymore
09. It’s Alright, I Understand
10. Throw Me In The River
11. I Love Life