Stream: Yusuf Islam/Cat Stevens’ new album Tell ‘Em I’m Gone

On October 27th, Yusuf Islam, aka Cat Stevens, will release his first new album in five years, Tell ‘Em I’m Gone. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full at

The 10-track effort contains an even mixture of original compositions and covers. The album was co-produced by Rick Rubin and also features contributions from Richard Thompson, Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy, Tinariwen, Matt Sweeney, and Charlie Musselwhite.

According to a press release, “Each track on Tell ‘Em I’m Gone revives the age-old themes of freedom and peace that have prevailed through more than four decades of Yusuf’s musical career. On this album, Yusuf returns to the roots of his teenage musical inspiration: American blues and R&B, using these genres to explore humanity’s climb to freedom with songs that recall the spirit of his earliest days as a nascent singer-songwriter in London.”

The album is preceded by two singles, the Edgar Winter-penned “Dying to Live” and a cover of “The Devil Came From Kansas”, featuring Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy.

Tell ‘Em I’m Gone marks Islam’s debut release with Legacy Recordings. The partnership will also see the eventual release “treasure trove of audio and video from Yusuf/Cat Steven’s personal archives,” according to a press release.

Pre-orders are ongoing.

Tell ‘Em I’m Gone Tracklist:
01. I Was Raised in Babylon
02. Big Boss Man
03. Dying to Live
04. You Are My Sunshine
05. Editing Floor Blues
06. Cat and the Dog Trap
07. Gold Digger
08. The Devil Came From Kansas
09. Tell ‘Em I’m Gone
10. Doors


Follow Consequence