Wu-Tang Clan set release date for new album, A Better Tomorrow

Photo by Debi Del Grande

After months of infighting and feuding, the legendary Wu-Tang Clan settled their differences and announced the imminent release of their long-awaited 20th anniversary record, A Better Tomorrow. Now, the hip-hop collective has found a home for the LP at Warner Bros. Records and set an official release date: December 2nd.

Wu-Tang said in a statement that after years of working with various labels, they were “delighted to be amongst a team of industry professionals who understand our unique artistry and will help spread it to the masses unadulterated.” They added, “RZA and his brother Divine CEO of Wu-Tang felt synergy with executive/producer Rob Cavallo and Cameron Strang, and decided Warner Bros. would be a suitable home for their brand and band, and a great place to carry on the Wu-Tang saga. In the words of Ghostface, when it comes to being signed to Warner Bros., ‘we’re getting Bugs Bunny money.'”

The group will precede the December 2nd street date by releasing a special edition of A Better Tomorrow on a portable bluetooth speaker for Record Store Day Black Friday (November 28th). The speaker will contain seven songs from the new record, including two instrumentals, plus an eighth song exclusive to the device. Featuring 10 hours of battery life, 94 decibels of loudness, and a “No-matter-what” one-year warranty, pre-orders for the speaker are going on here.

In an interview with BillboardRZA said of the unique content delivery method, “I had the idea pop up into my head, for a while, about music being kind of disconnected to us. Of being so digitized and accessible, but yet not tangible … But this thing here, a tangible item, like your old Walkman or your old cassette, or your old record, that’s what this is bringing back.”

Wu-Tang debuted one of the tracks from A Better Tomorrow, “Ron O’Neal”, back in August on The Daily Show. Listen to the studio version of the track below, followed by the Boombotix tracklist.

A Better Tomorrow Boombotix Tracklist:
01. Ruckus in B Minor
02. Ron O’Neal
03. Mistaken Identity
04. Keep Watch
05. Never Let Go
06. Mistaken Identity (Instrumental)
07. Never Let Go (Instrumental)
08. Big Horn (Exclusive)


Follow Consequence