Yo La Tengo to celebrate 30th anniversary with deluxe reissue of Painful and US tour dates

On December 2nd, Yo La Tengo will celebrate their 30th anniversary as a band with a deluxe reissue of their classic 1993 album, Painful, and a handful of special career-spanning anniversary shows.

Titled Extra Painful, the double LP/CD reissue comes chock-full of bonus material, including over 10 extra tracks, three of which are previously unreleased songs from the original Painful recording sessions. Also included is the “Shaker” 7-inch, photos, the original band-aid sticker, the first YLT Gazette in 14 years, and liner notes from the band and Matador Records’ own Gerard Cosloy. Pre-orders have begun.

After playing Austin’s Fun Fun Fun Fest in November, Yo La Tengo will kick off their 30th anniversary tour with a two-night residency at New York’s Town Hall, followed by shows in Washington, DC and Philadelphia.

Below, check out all the reissue details and the band’s upcoming itinerary.

01. DoubleLP + 7″ + download coupon with extra tracks
02. Double CD + download coupon with extra tracks
03. Digital release is regular and bonus disc tracks, does NOT include download coupon bonus tracks

Disc 1: The original “Painful” album (not remastered)
Disc 2: “Extra Painful” – the bonus tracks
7″: “Shaker” / “For Shame Of Doing Wrong” – exact reproduction of original single
Download coupon: all the album tracks + 15 extra bonus tracks
Packaging: Double LP + 7″ (in picture sleeve) with ephemera, photos, reproduction of original ‘band-aid’ sticker, the first ‘YLT Gazette’ in 14 years, liner notes by Gerard Cosloy and the band

Disc 1: As on vinyl
Disc 2: As on vinyl
Download coupon: includes the 2 tracks from the “Shaker” 7″ as well as the 15 extra bonus tracks
Packaging includes a booklet with all the artwork in the vinyl package


Painful Tracklist:
01. Big Day Coming
02. From a Motel 6
03. Double Dare
04. Superstar-Watcher
05. Nowhere Near
06. Sudden Organ
07. A Worrying Thing
08. I Was The Fool Beside You For Too Long
09. The Whole Of The Law
10. Big Day Coming
11. I Heard You Looking

Extra Painful Bonus Disc Tracklist:
01. Nowhere Near (demo)
02. From A Motel 6 (live acoustic)
03. Tunnel Vision (unreleased instrumental demo)
04. Sudden Organ (demo)
05. Smart Window (unreleased Painful session)
06. Big Day Coming (live acoustic)
07. Slow Learner (unreleased demo)
08. Double Dare (demo)
09. A Worrying Thing (demo)
10. I Heard You Looking (live)

“Shaker” 7″:
A: Shaker
B: For Shame Of Doing Wrong [8-Track Version – the CD single contained a different version which is on the download coupon]

Yo La Tengo 2014 Tour Dates:
10/29 – Portland, ME @ State Theatre #
10/30 – Burlington, VT @ Flynn Center #
11/07 – New Orleans, LA @ Contemporary Arts Center #
11/12 – Vancouver, BC @ PuSh Festival #
11/09 – Austin, TX @ Fun Fun Fun Fest
12/03 – New York, NY @ Town Hall $
12/04 – New York, NY @ Town Hall $
12/05 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club $
12/06 – Philadelphia, PA @ Trocadero $

# = Sam Green & Yo La Tengo “The Love Song of R. Buckminster Fuller”
$ = 30th Anniversary Shows


Follow Consequence