Elvis Perkins announces new album I Aubade, premieres “Hogus Pogus” — listen


New York City troubadour Elvis Perkins has announced a new album. Due out February 24th via his own MIR imprint, I Aubade marks Perkins’ third album and the follow-up to 2009’s Elvis Perkins In Dearland.

Perkins discussed the album in a statement, saying, “Here lies my third Long-Playing collection of songs. The vast majority of what can be heard is the product of my own placement of microphone to source in the period between February 2012 & December 2013. My previous releases had for the most part been made with steady players in studios and overheard by engineers and producers, so this was for me both a novel approach and a return to the 4-tracking solitary self of my early 20s.”

“I recorded and edited mostly at home {middle new york}, sometimes with others and at their places {hudson, dallas, los angeles}, in american hotels and for a spell in a ‘Wilderness’ {im}mobile home happenstantially catching radio waves {ojai}. Ultimately it is a record full of waves and of changes.”

As a preview of the LP, the lead single “Hogus Pogus” is streaming below. The track is a buoyed wobble of upright bass, pretty noises of scraping strings, and Perkins warmly cooing, “I have much more feeling/ Do much more squealing/ More reeling in the great mystery.” Where his previous albums have been full of grief and melancholy, “Hogus Pocus” signals a decidedly more positive outlook. Listen in below.

I Aubade Tracklist:
01. On Rotation Moses
02. My Kind
03. I Came For Fire
04. & Eveline
05. It’s Now Or Never Loves
06. The Passage Of The Black Gene
07. AM
08. Hogus Pogus
09. Gasolina
10. Accidental Tourist {A White Huayno Melody}
11. All Today
12. My 2$
13. Wheel In The Morning