Eminem unearths lost demo version of “Lose Yourself” — listen

Eminem Lose Yourself

As the theme to his biopic 8 Mile, “Lose Yourself” became one of Eminem’s biggest hits. It was his first #1 single and the first rap song ever to win the Academy Award for Best Original Song. Its legacy is massive, but it was almost something entirely different. Another version of the track exists, even if Em admits he doesn’t remember recording it. The early version was brought to his attention as he set about putting together the Shady XV compilation, and he decided to include it on the release. Now, he’s revealed an early listen to the full alternate take.

The demo’s beat is identical to the version we all know, but the difference in the lyrics is apparent from the first verse. Instead of bars about nerves and spaghetti vomit, Eminem spits, “If I was froze inside of a moment/ If I could capture time inside a capsule/ Then I could try to channel it through Cadillacs and Buicks/ And that’s when you hit the roof because you can’t sit through it/ Just lose yourself in this music, this moment.” And that’s just the first verse. Check the whole thing out below.

The double-disc Shady XV will be released on November 24th. Disc one will feature new material from the likes of Slaughterhouse, Yelawolf, D-12, and Bad Meets Evil. So far we’ve heard Eminem and Sia’s “Guts Over Fear” and “Detroit Vs. Everybody” featuring Eminem, Royce da 5’9″, Big Sean, Danny Brown, DeJ Loaf, and Trick Trick. Disc two will be a selection of greatest hits from the Shady Records roster. The full tracklist is below.

Shady XV Tracklist:
Disc 1 (Disc X)
01. Eminem – “ShadyXV”
02. Slaughterhouse ft. Eminem and Yelawolf – “Psychopath Killer”
03. Eminem ft. Kobe – “Die Alone”
04. Bad Meets Evil – “Vegas”
05. Slaughterhouse – “Ya’ll Ready Know”
06. Eminem ft. Sia – “Guts Over Fear”
07. Yelawolf – “Down”
08. D12 – “Bane”
09. Eminem – “Fine Line”
10. Skylar Gray, Eminem and Yelawolf – “Twisted”
11. Eminem, Royce da 5’9″, Big Sean, Danny Brown, DeJ Loaf and Trick Trick – “Detroit Vs. Everybody”

Disc 2 (Disc V)
01. 50 Cent – “I Get Money”
02. D12 – “Purple Pills”
03. Eminem – “Lose Yourself”
04. Obie Trice, Kuniva, Bobby Creekwater, Ca$his and Stat Quo – “Cry Now (Shady Remix)”
05. Yelawolf ft. Kid Rock – “Let’s Roll”
06. Slaughterhouse – “Hammer Dance”
07. 50 Cent – “P.I.M.P.”
08. Eminem, 50 Cent, Ca$his and Lloyd Banks – “You Don’t Know”
09. D12 – “My Band”
10. Obie Trice – “Wanna Know”
11. 50 Cent – “Wanksta”
12. Obie Trice ft. Nate Dogg – “The Setup”
13. 50 Cent – “In da Club”
14. D12 – “Fight Music”
15. Yelawolf – “Pop the Trunk”
16. Eminem – “Lose Yourself” (Original demo version bonus track)