Screaming Females announce new album, Rose Mountain, premiere “Ripe”


Screaming Females will release their sixth studio album, Rose Mountain, on February 24th via Don Giovanni Records. Serving as the follow-up to 2012’s Ugly, as well as this year’s Live at the Hideout, the new album spans 10 tracks and was produced by Matt Bayles (The Sword, Mastodon). That’s the album art above, which reminds this writer of Majora’s Mask.

Already the New Jersey punk rockers have previewed the release with “Wishing Well”, which was first unveiled as a 7-inch just last month. To accompany today’s announcement, they’ve shared the proper lead single, “Ripe”. Unlike its more accessible, mid-tempo predecessor, “Ripe” finds the Scremales chugging along at full force. Swirling together bits of crusty punk, booming metal, and more melodic hardcore, the trio’s forged a lean, mean anthem with little more than some static guitars, verbose percussion, and Marissa Paternoster’s visceral crooning.

Check out the song’s visualizer below, which features the band engaged in a rather intense staring contest.

Rose Mountain Tracklist:
01. Empty Head
02. Ripe
03. Wishing Well
04. Burning Car
05. Broken Neck
06. Rose Mountain
07. Hopeless
08. Triumph
09. It’s Not Fair
10. Criminal Image