Death Cab For Cutie announce new album Kintsugi


Death Cab For Cutie has announced details of its new studio album. Entitled Kintsugi, the band’s eighth LP (and first since 2011’s Codes and Keys) will arrive on March 31st through Atlantic Records.

The album’s title references a “Japanese style of art where they take fractured, broken ceramics and put them back together with very obvious, real gold,” explains DCFC bassist Nick Harmer. “It’s making the repair of an object a visual part of its history.” If you’re wondering, yes, all this is a reference to the recent departure of founding member and producer Chris Walla.

Adds frontman Ben Gibbard, “This is an opportunity for the band to become something it could only become by losing a founding member. It’s our goal to make records that rank amongst the best work we’ve ever done. I completely respect and understand why people love Transatlanticism or We Have the Facts… or Narrow Stairs. And I would hope that as we move forward, people listen with as little prejudice as they can and try to hear the music for what it is and not what they want it to be.”

Check out the album’s artwork and 11-song tracklist below.

Kintsugi Artwork:

death cab for cutie kintsugi

Kintsugi Tracklist:
01. No Room in Frame
02. Black Sun
03. The Ghosts of Beverly Drive
04. Little Wanderer
05. You’ve Haunted Me All My Life
06. Hold No Guns
07. Everything’s a Ceiling
08. Good Help (Is So Hard to Find)
09. El Dorado
10. Ingénue
11. Binary Sea