Shlohmo announces new album, Dark Red, premieres “Buried” — listen


On April 7th, producer Henry Laufer, aka Shlohmo, will release his sophomore album Dark Red. The 11-track effort follows 2011’s Bad Vibes and marks the Los Angeles native’s first LP for True Panther/WeDidIt. That’s the artwork above.

According to a press release, the record is an “uncanny marriage of his ever-evolving, richly textured sound with shades of ’90s IDM, R&B, cassette-tape Jungle, and, in an unexpected turn, sludge metal.” Laufer himself said it sounded as if “Electric Wizard tried to make an R&B record, or Boards of Canada meets Burzum by the River Styx.”

Already we’ve heard the stormy lead single “Emerge From Smoke”. Today, Laufer’s unleashed “Buried”, a similarly murky and menacing number. Listen in below.

Dark Red Tracklist:
01. Ten Days of Falling
02. Meet Ur Maker
03. Buried
04. Emerge From Smoke
05. Slow Descent
06. Apathy
07. Relentless
08. Ditch
09. Remains
10. Fading
11. Beams

In support, Laufer will hit the road for a US spring tour. Check out his full schedule here.