Fucked Up offshoot Young Guv premieres new song “Crawling Back To You” — listen

Ben Cook trades in punk riffs for cheery indie pop


As guitarist for hardcore punk outfit Fucked Up, Ben Cook doles out out aggressive, gritty riffs. His solo project Young Guv, however, finds Cook exploring a more cheery, playful, and indie pop-oriented sound. Case in point: his latest track “Crawling Back To You”.

Lined with feathery, lilting melodies, the song is Cook at his most charming and relaxed. Put this this way: If Fucked Up’s broiling “Queen of Hearts” felt like a wicked punch to the jugular, “Crawling Back To You” is a sweet, tender caress. Listen in below.

“Crawling Back To You” is off Cook’s forthcoming Young Guv album, Ripe 4 Luv, which arrives on March 10th through Slumberland Records. For more from the LP, check out “Crushing Sensation” and “Wrong Crowd”.

Ripe 4 Luv Tracklist:
01. Crushing Sensation
02. Ripe 4 Luv
03. Crawling Back To You
04. Aquarian
05. Kelly, I’m Not A Creep
06. Dear Drew
07. Living The Dream
08. Wrong Crowd