Godspeed You! Black Emperor announce new album Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress

Listen to an eight-minute excerpt of opening track "Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!’"

Godspeed You Black Emperor Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress

There was a decade-long span between Godspeed You! Black Emperor’s fourth and fifth studio albums. Fans won’t have to wait nearly as long to hear album No. 6, however. The Canadian post-rock outfit has announced the follow-up to their 2012’s Polaris Prize-winning LP, Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!. Entitled Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress, it’s out March 31st through Constellation Records.

Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress spans four tracks and clocks in at 40 minutes, marking their first single LP-length release since the group’s earliest days in 1997-99. According to Constellation Records, the album is “arguably the most focused and best-sounding recording of the band’s career,” as they worked alongside sound engineer Greg Norman (Electrical Audio) at studios in North Carolina and Montreal.

As a preview, GY!BE has shared an eight-minute excerpt of the album’s opening track, “Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!’”. Listen in below.

Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress Tracklist:
01. Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!’
02. Lambs’ Breath
03. Asunder, Sweet
04. Piss Crowns Are Trebled