Led Zeppelin unearth “Brandy & Coke”, an early version of “Trampled Under Foot” — listen


Led Zeppelin will continue their massive archival project with a deluxe reissue of 1975’s Physical Graffiti coming on February 24th, 40 years to the day of the original release. Having already shared an alternate take on “Houses of the Holy”, the legendary rockers have now unveiled an early version of “Trampled Under Foot” entitled “Brandy & Coke”.

Described on the tracklist as an “initial rough mix,” this version sees the treble turned up all around. Robert Plant’s vocals are pulled up out of their echoy chamber and instead sit high amongst the John Paul Jones’ ever-funky bass line. Jimmy Page’s intricate guitar work and John Bonham’s steady drumming seem to switch positions, with the former tucked comfortably back in the mix and the latter bumping louder. Take a listen below.

The Physical Graffiti reissue follows deluxe editions of Led Zeppelin, II, III, IV, and Houses of the Holy, all remastered by Page himself. Other songs on the new release include alternative mixes of “In My Time Of Dying” and “Kashmir”, as well as another early version of “Everybody Makes It Through” titled “In the Light”. You can get the reissue on double CD, deluxe triple CD, double LP, deluxe triple LP, digitally, and in a super deluxe box set containing a hard-bound book and high-quality print of the album cover. The full tracklist is below.

Physical Graffiti Deluxe Reissue Tracklist:
Disc One
01. “Custard Pie”
02. “The Rover”
03. “In My Time Of Dying”
04. “Houses Of The Holy”
05. “Trampled Under Foot”
06. “Kashmir”

Disc Two
01. “In The Light”
02. “Bron-Yr-Aur”
03. “Down By The Seaside”
04. “Ten Years Gone”
05. “Night Flight”
06. “The Wanton Song”
07. “Boogie With Stu”
08. “Black Country Woman”
09. “Sick Again”

Companion Audio Disc
01. “Brandy & Coke” (Trampled Under Foot – Initial Rough Mix)
02. “Sick Again” (Early Version)
03. “In My Time Of Dying” (Initial Rough Mix)
04. “Houses Of The Holy” (Rough Mix With Overdubs)
05. “Everybody Makes It Through” (In The Light Early Version/In Transit)
06. “Boogie With Stu” (Sunset Sound Mix)
07. “Driving Through Kashmir” (Kashmir Rough Orchestra Mix)