Open Mike Eagle teams with Oddisee for “Celebrity Reduction Prayer” — listen

A cut from Mello Music Group's forthcoming Persona compilation


Open Mike Eagle made waves earlier this month with his latest EP A Special Episode Of. Now, the LA-via-Chicago MC has joined with DC producer Oddisee for “Celebrity Reduction Prayer”, a new track off of Mello Music Group’s forthcoming annual compilation album.

Oddisee lays down a summer breeze of a beat which Open Mike rides on like a wind of change. His lyrics are a methodical takedown of celebrity culture and the thoughtless, enraging sheep mentality it can create amongst the public. No one is safe from Open Mike’s heaving lyricism, from Yoda to Wolf Blitzer to Obama to Joe Rogan. What it comes down to though, is one thing: “There’s no upper tier/ We’re all peers/ Unless ya’ll want to be rivals.” Take a listen below.

Entitled Persona, this year’s annual Mello Music comp is due out March 10th. The record highlights the best of the Tucson-based label with contributions from yU, Kool Keith, Rapper Big Pooh, Gift of Gab, and more contributing to tracks produced by Nottz, Oh No, L’Orange, Apollo Brown, and others. Find physical pre-orders at Mello Music and digitally through iTunes. Check out the full tracklist below.

Persona Tracklist:
01. Requiem – Oddissee and Phonte (prod. Oddisee)
02. Homicide – yU (prod. Nottz)
03. PNT – Ras Kass (prod. Apollo Brown)
04. Celebrity Reduction Prayer – Open Mike Eagle (prod. Oddisee)
05. You First – Rapper Big Pooh and Quelle Chris (prod. Oh No)
06. Sometimes I Feel – Kool Keith (prod. L’Orange)
07. The Run – Red Pill and Oh No (prod. Oh No)
08. Troubles – Masta Ace (prod. Apollo Brown)
09. Word to the Wise – Oddisee (prod. Oddisee)
10. Dark Comedy Late Show – Open Mike Eagle (prod. Exile)
11. Circles Around Circles – Gift of Gab (prod. L’Orange)
12. Lose the Ground – yU (prod. Tall Black Guy)
13. House Rag – Quelle Chris (prod. I, Ced)
14. Darlin’ – Red Pill (prod. Blockhead)
15. No Future – Rapper Big Pooh (prod. Apollo Brown)
16. All I See Is You – Quelle Chris and Bilal Salaam (prod. Quelle Chris)