Other Lives announce new album, premiere “Reconfiguration” — listen


On May 5th, Other Lives will return with their new album Rituals through TBD Records. Following 2011’s Tamer Animals, the 13-track effort was co-produced by band members Jonathon Mooney and Jesse Tabish alongside Atoms for Peace’s own Joey Waronker. According to a press release, the LP’s themes were born during a transitional period for the band, specifically their relocation to Portland, Oregon from their hometown of Stillwater, Oklahoma.

“There was a spirit of change,” Tabish explained of the band’s mindset going into the Rituals recording sessions. “We had done [2011’s second LP] Tamer Animals, which was very close to us and about our home. So the next record was about the spontaneity of travel and being isolated. For the first times in our lives we were moving off on our own away from our families and kind of coming into our own. I wanted the songs to reflect that new spirit.”

He added: “This one was a real journey. It was a long time spent searching for a new identity … still trying to retain the past of our musical palate but also really trying to stretch ourselves into a new type of music.”

In anticipation, Other Lives have shared the lead single “Reconfiguration”. Whereas their previous album was more of a pastoral folk affair, this new song marks an exploration of shadowier atmospherics and bolder, experimental rock. (Sounds like someone’s been heavily bumping Amok.) Listen in below, followed by the LP’s artwork and tracklist.

Rituals - album by Other Lives

Rituals Tracklist:
01. Fair Weather
02. Pattern
03. Reconfiguration
04. Easy Way Out
05. Beat Primal
06. New Fog
07. 2 Pyramids
08. Need A Line
09. English Summer
10. Untitled
11. No Trouble
12. For The Last
13. It’s Not Mag