Patrick Watson announces new album, Love Songs for Robots, shares title track — listen

Singer-songwriter's sixth album arrives May 12th

Patrick Watson has announced a new album titled Love Songs for Robots. The follow-up to 2012’s Adventures in Your Own Backyard is set for a May 12th release via Domino and Secret City Records.

A preview of the record actually came earlier this year in a trailer for the mid-season return of The Walking Dead, but now Watson has revealed the first full taste in the form of the title track. Rich and ethereal, it’s strewn with floating vocals and a confluence of swirling sounds. Watson had this to say of the song:

I started thinking about things in a very mechanical way. I found it interesting how we would use our senses to come up with an emotional reaction. As I get older you get to know yourself better and I realized that a lot of my emotional reactions were mechanical responses and that was hugely influential. I didn’t want to be a robot. But the reason why we are superior to computers is that we have emotions and I realized that emotions are mechanical so the only thing left between us and robots is curiosity and inspiration – and I don’t think you can program that into a computer.”

Check out the track below, followed by the complete tracklist and a teaser trailer.

Love Songs for Robots Tracklist:
01. Love Songs for Robots
02. Good Morning Mr. Wolf
03. Bollywood
04. Hearts
05. Grace
06. In Circles
07. Turn Into the Noise
08. Alone in This World
09. Know That You Know
10. Places You Will Go


Follow Consequence