Ryley Walker premieres new single “Sweet Satisfaction” — listen

A second listen of the Chicago songwriter's sophomore LP, Primrose Green


Chicago singer-songwriter Ryley Walker will return on March 31st with his sophomore album, Primrose Green. Following the title track, Walker has shared “Sweet Satisfaction” as the new record’s second single.

Like much of his material, the new track belies Walker’s youthful 24 years of age. What opens as a classic folk picking number coalesces into a seemingly — and perhaps actually — improvised swirl of Americana by way of jazz. “That sound just came from those dudes [in my band], their day jobs as jazz musicians,” Walker told Stereogum, adding, “A lot of the folky records I like have jazz dudes on them. If you think about John Martyn and Tim Buckley, they’ve got hippie session jazz dudes on there that are just ripping it up.”

“Ripping it up” is a fair way to describe “Sweet Satisfaction” as well, a tumbling, whirling six-and-a-half minute track that’s highlighted by Walker’s nearly mumbled growl and wailed lines like, “I’d rather be dead than see you cry.” Check it out below:

Primrose Green is due March 31st through Dead Oceans. He’ll support the album on an extensive world tour that includes stops at Knoxville’s Big Ears, Austin’s Levitation, and shows at South by Southwest; find his full itinerary here.

Primrose Green Tracklist:
01. Primrose Green
02. Summer Dress
03. Same Minds
04. Griffiths Bucks Blues
05. Love Can Be Cruel
06. On The Banks Of The Old Kishwaukee
07. Sweet Satisfaction
08. The High Road
09. All Kinds Of You
10. Hide In The Roses