The Very Best announce new album, premiere “Let Go” featuring Vampire Weekend’s Chris Baio — listen


On April 7th, The Very Best will return with a new album called Makes A King through Moshi Moshi Records. Tracked in the M’dala Chikowa Village of Mali, the 13-song effort follows 2012’s MTMTMK. The synthpop duo — comprised of singer Esau Mwamwaya and producer Johan Hugo — will be joined by guest contributors Chris Baio of Vampire Weekend, Senegalese singer Baaba Maal, and London singer-songwriter Seye, among others.

In anticipation, The Very Best has shared a new LP cut called “Let Go”. Much like lead single “Hear Me”, it’s a breezy, life-affirming number highlighting Mwamwaya’s balmy croon and Baio’s chugging bass lines. Listen in below, followed by the album’s artwork and tracklist.

Makes A King album - Vampire weekend

Makes A King Tracklist:
01. Nkhondo
02. Hear Me
03. Let Go (feat. Vampire Weekend Chris Baio)
04. Guju Guju
05. Bilmankwe (feat. Jerere)
06. Sweka
07. Mwana Wanga
08. Mariana (feat. Seye)
09. The Dead and the Dreaming (feat. Seye)
10. Kanyale
11. Umasiye (feat. Baaba Maal)
12. Uhumu
13. Makes a King (feat. Jutty Taylor)