Depeche Mode’s Martin Gore announces solo LP, shares “Europa Hymn” — listen

MG features 16 new instrumental tracks


Martin Gore, co-founder of Depeche Mode, has announced a new solo album under the abbreviated moniker MG. The self-titled effort features 16 instrumental tracks and is due April 28th via Mute Records.

Gore began recording the album in his Santa Barbara, California home following Depeche Mode’s 2013 tour. “I wanted to keep the music very electronic, very filmic, and give it an almost sci-fi like quality,” said Gore in a press release. “Music is a necessity for me. I go into the studio at least five days a week, every week, so once I had the idea and the template, the process was quick and fun.”

The MG handle originated for 2012’s VCMG project with former Mode member Vince Clarke. “As the album is very electronic and has no vocals,” Gore explained, “I felt it deserved another persona so decided to carry on the MG concept from the VCMG album.”

Below, listen to the album track “Europa Hymn”, and find the full MG tracklist.

MG Tracklist:
01. Pinking
02. Swanning
03. Exalt
04. Elk
05. Brink
06. Europa Hymn
07. Creeper
08. Spiral
09. Stealth
10. Hum
11. Islet
12. Crowly
13. Trysting
14. Southerly
15. Featherlight
16. Blade