Full list of Record Store Day 2015 releases revealed

Exclusives from D'Angelo, Florence & the Machine, Mumford and Sons, Vampire Weekend, The Replacements, Tears For Fears, and more

As the day when Record Store Day returns to fill independent record stores countrywide with loads of exclusive releases, April 18th is already circled and starred on the calendars of vinyl collectors everywhere. Today, the RSD faithful can start compiling their wish lists, as the complete list of releases has been officially revealed.

Here’s some of what we already knew was coming: a reissue of the self-titled album from The Thermals’ precursor Hutch and Kathy, a Red House Painters box set, the first-ever vinyl pressing of Polaris’ Music from the Adventures of Pete & Pete, Metallica’s 1982 cassette demo No Life ’til Leather, the first new material from Violent Femmes in 15 years, Johnny Marr’s cover of Depeche Mode’s “I Feel You”, the first-ever commercial pressing of The White Stripes’ Get Behind Me Satan, and the first-ever Elvis Presley recordings Jack White bought for $300,000.

Below, find a list of some more highlights in alphabetical order. Keep in mind these are only some of the exclusives, and not even touching the regional or “RSD First” releases. For the complete list, head to the RSD website.

A-Ha’s classic “Take On Me” will be available on 7-inch picture disc.

— A Ryan Adams 7-inch featuring an alternate take of “Come Pick Me Up” b/w “Rope Gets Tight”.

— AMC’s The Walking Dead Soundtrack vol. 2 will be available on a 12-inch picture disc.

— Courtney Barnett will release new track “Kim’s Caravan” b/w a cover of John Cale’s “Close Watch” on 12-inch.

— A star-shaped 7-inch of Black Star’s (Mos Def and Talib Kweli) “Fix Up” b/w “You Already Knew”.

David Bowie will put out another 7-inch picture disc, this time with “Changes”.

Brand New will reissue their classic Déjà Entendu on 2xLP.

— D’Angelo will release a 7-inch of Black Messiah tracks “Charade” b/w “1000 Deaths”.

Death Cab for Cutie will have a cover Freedy Johnston’s “Bad Reputation” on a 7-inch b/w the original.

— The Decemberists will reissue Picaresque on 12-inch red vinyl to mark its 10th anniversary. Includes postcard set and 16-page booklet.

— J Dilla will have two releases: his classic “Fuck The Police” printed on a 7-inch disc cut like a police badge, and a 7-inch featuring the never-before-heard “Love”.

— The Replacements guitarist Slim Dunlap will have his two albums, The Old New Me and Times Like This, released on vinyl for the first time together as a 2xLP. The ‘Mats will also release a 10-inch version of Replacements EP, featuring four tracks from Please to Meet Me.

Bob Dylan’s The Basement Tapes will be reissued on both mono and stereo 12-inch vinyl, along with a blue 7-inch with “The Night We Called It a Day” b/w “Stay With Me” from Shadows in the Night.

— Brian Eno’s “lost” 1991 album My Squelchy Life will be pressed on vinyl for the first time, including a never-before-heard track, “Rapid Eye”.

— Father John Misty will see his tracks “I Love You, Honeybear” (acoustic version) and “Never Been a Woman” pressed on a heart-shaped, colored 7-inch.

Florence and The Machine will preview their new LP, How Big How Blue How Beautiful, with a 12-inch blue vinyl featuring “What Kind of Man” b/w “As Far As I Can Get”.

Foo Fighters will release a 10-inch featuring demos of “Alone + Easy Target” and “Big Me” b/w a cover of Kim Wilde’s “Kids in America” and a new track dubbed “Empty Handed”.

Mark Kozelek will unveil an early solo album made entirely of “drastically rearranged acoustic covers of Bon Scott-era AC/DC songs.” It’s on 12-inch vinyl.

Paul McCartney’s rare 1967 The Family Way: Original Soundtrack Recording will be reprinted on 12-inch.

Mumford and Sons will have a “bootleg style” (hand numbered and stamped) 7-inch of their new single “Believe” b/w “The Wolf”.

Run The Jewels will let loose a 12-inch which includes an unreleased song called “Bust No Moves” featuring SL Jones, “Pew Pew Pew” from the European edition of RTJ, “Love Again” off RTJ2, and the bonus RTJ 2 track “Blockbuster Night Pt. 2”.

Swans will reissue their 1982 12″ EP.

Tears for Fears will release a double A-Side 12-inch single with extended remixes of “Shout” and “Everybody Wants to Rule the World”

Those Darlins and Diarrhea Planet will release Live at Pickathon Split featuring live recordings from their 2014 Pickathon Music Festival sets. Each side of the 12-inch will feature unique artwork.

U2 will issue a 2xLP deluxe edition of Age of Innocence.

Vampire Weekend will release 3,000 white vinyl 12-inch pressings of “Step” including the original track, a remix featuring Danny Brown, Heems, and Despot, and an instrumental version.


Follow Consequence