The X-Files’ David Duchovny to release album of folk rock music

The actor takes a stab at singing just as he returns as Mulder


Who knew 2015 was going to be such a big year for David Duchovny? He just put out his first novel (the New York Times best-seller Holy Cow: A Modern-Day Dairy Tale), he’s returning as Agent Fox Mulder in a new season of The X-Files, and now this: Duchovny has announced his debut solo album, Hell or Highwater. 

Due out May 12th on ThinkSay Records, the 12-track album sees the actor/writer/musician delivering “poetic lyrics and infectious melodies,” according to a press release. From a series of preview videos (which you can watch below), it seems the music will fall into the folk/rock troubadour realm of sound.

“Making this record is a dream come true, but I never had this dream – it’s still a shock when I think about how all this music happened,” Duchovny said of the release.  “What I do know is that I feel these songs represent the truest expression that I’ve ever been able to achieve and I look forward to sharing it with everyone.”

The title track is available for purchase via iTunes, while pre-orders for the full record are going on here. Below, find the album art, preview clips, and tracklist.

duchovny album

Hell or Highwater Tracklist:
01. Let it Rain
02. 3000
03. Stars
04. Hell or Highwater
05. The Things
06. The Rain Song
07. Unsaid Undone
08. Lately it’s Always December
09. Another Year
10. Passenger
11. When The Time Comes
12. Positively Madison Avenue