Desaparecidos announce first album in 13 years, Payola, premiere “City on the Hill” — listen

First LP since 2002 features collaborations with Laura Jane Grace, So So Glos, and Tim Kasher


Reunited punk outfit Desaparecidos, led by Conor Oberst, have officially announced their first album in 13 years: Payola is due out June 23rd via Epitaph Records. The 13-track effort was co-produced by Oberst’s longtime collaborator Mike Mogis and features special guests in Against Me’s Laura Jane Grace, So So Glos, and Cursive’s Tim Kasher.

The long-awaited follow-up to 2002’s Read Music/Speak Spanish comes after a number of reunion tours in 2012 and 2013. It includes previously released tracks “The Left is Right”, “Anonymous”, “Te Amo Camila Vallejo”“The Underground Man”, “MariKKKopa”, and “Backsell”.

For our latest preview of the LP, Desaparecidos have shared the Kasher-aided “City on the Hill”. Check out the thrashing, riff-happy song below.

Payola Artwork:
Desaparecidos new album Payola

Payola Tracklist:
01. The Left Is Right
02. The Underground Man
03. City on the Hill feat. Tim Kasher
04. Golden Parachutes feat. Laura Jane Grace
05. Radicalized
06. MariKKKopa
07. Te Amo Camila Vallejo
08. Ralphy’s Cut
09. Backsell
10. Slacktivist feat. So So Glos
11. Search the Searches
12. 10 Steps Behind
13. Von Maur Massacre
14. Anonymous

The band has a few upcoming dates lined up, including festival sets at Coachella, Forecastle, and The Wrecking Ball.

Desaparecidos 2015 Tour Dates:
04/08 – Denver, CO @ The Fillmore Auditorium
04/10 – Magna, UT @ The Great Saltair
04/12 – Indio, CA @ Coachella
04/13 – Los Angeles, CA @ Roxy Theatre
04/15 – Los Angeles, CA @ Shrine Expo Hall
04/16 – San Francisco, CA @ Regency Ballroom
04/19 – Indio, CA @ Coachella
07/17 – Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival
08/08-09 – Atlanta, GA @ The Wrecking Ball Festival