Nickel Creek’s Sara and Sean Watkins cover Fleetwood Mac’s “Steal Your Heart Away” — listen

Taken from Watkins Family Hour's self-titled record, due out this summer

watkins family hour fiona apple self titled album new album

On July 24th, Nickel Creek members and siblings Sara and Sean Watkins will bring their monthly Los Angeles stage show, the Watkins Family Hour, into the homes of their fans with the release of their self-titled album. Due out via Family Hour Records, the 11-track effort is comprised entirely of covers and features special collaborations with Fiona Apple and Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers keyboardist Benmont Tench.

“For the last 12 years the Watkins family hour has been a live show that we did almost exclusively at Largo in LA with the help of some of our very favorite musicians and friends,” Sean said of the album. “It’s something that my sister Sara and I are very passionate about. We couldn’t be more excited to release this record and to be taking it on the road with Fiona and the band this summer.”

Our first look at the LP comes courtesy of “Steal Your Heart Away”, a lovely take on the Fleetwood Mac original. Sara’s lilting vocals lead the affair, backed by a warm, yearning mix of strings and piano. Listen in below.

Watkins Family Hour also features covers of Bob Dylan, the Grateful Dead, and Gordon Lightfoot. In support, the Watkins siblings will take their show on the road for a month-long US summer tour.

Watkins Family Hour Tracklist:
01. Feelin’ Good Again (written by Robert Earl Keen, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
02. Where I Ought To Be (written by Harlan Howard, lead vocals by Fiona Apple and Sara Watkins)
03. Not In Nottingham (written by Roger Miller, lead vocals by Sean Watkins)
04. Steal Your Heart Away (written by Lindsey Buckingham, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
05. Prescription for the Blues (written by Saunders Montgomery, lead vocals by Benmont Tench)
06. Going Going Gone (written by Bob Dylan, lead vocals by Sean Watkins)
07. Hop High (traditional, arranged by Watkins Family Hour, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
08. She Thinks I Still Care (written by Dickey Lee Lipscomb, lead vocals by Sebastian Steinberg)
09. The King of the 12 Oz. Bottles (written by Lee Ving, lead vocals by Don Heffington)
10. Early Morning Rain (written by Gordon Lightfoot, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
11. Brokedown Palace (written by Robert C. Hunter and Jerry Garcia, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)