Supergroup LÁ-BAS premieres new single “Be Afraid Baby, Be Very Afraid” — listen

Featuring members of My Midnight Heart, The War on Drugs, and David Byrne's band


LÁ-BAS is ostensibly a supergroup trio. Angelica Allen of My Midnight Heart/Trans-Siberian Orchestra, film composer Nathan Larson (Shudder to Think, Hot One), and Jordan Kern (also of Hot One) have enough credits to their name to more than warrant the descriptor. The “ostensibly” is really about the trio part; joining LÁ-BAS on their self-titled debut are members of The War on Drugs, David Byrne’s band, St. Vincent, The Cardigans, The Shins, MS MR, Guided By Voices, and more.

It’s an astounding collection of talent, and their May 12th debut on Modern Imperial Recordings is stacking up to be equally so. Following “Automaton” and “Give Them Your Good Side”, the band has shared new single “Be Afraid Baby Be Very Afraid”.

Of the three, the latest track is definitely the most downbeat. Synths drone and bend in the background as the rhythm section keeps things at a steady tick. But with Allen fronting your band, things can’t stay mired for long, as her voice climbs on the back of staggered guitars to sing out, “‘Cause who you choose to love/ is who you lose to love.” As Larson explains, “[The song] is a stark groove about the futility of hiding, and the exposure that comes with love. In addition to Angelica Allen’s soaring vocals and the core members of LÁ-BAS, it features prominently the drumming of The Cardigans’ Bengt Lagerberg, and the tense dual guitar of Eric D. Johnson (The Shins, Fruitbats) and [myself].”

Listen below.

LÁ-BAS Tracklist:
01. Automaton
02. Future Eye
03. Star Candy
04. City’s Under Fire
05. Son City
06. Ready for Your Closeup
07. Get Down
08. Surveillance Rock
09. Be Afraid Baby Be Very Afraid
10. Give Them Your Good Side
11. Song City (Dub City remix)