Watkins Family Hour announces self-titled debut album featuring Fiona Apple

Los Angeles stage show to release covers album and tour the country

watkins family hour fiona apple self titled album new album

Los Angeles venue Largo at the Coronet is home to a number of great monthly shows, both comedy and music. Now, one of the most popular recurring programs will set out on the road and release their material to a larger audience. The Watkins Family Hour, a monthly show hosted by siblings/Nickel Creek members Sara and Sean Watkins, will release a self-titled record on July 24th through Family Hour Records

The show has been a staple in the LA folk scene since 2002, and has featured guests like Jackson Browne, Susanna Hoffs, John C. Reilly, and Nick Kroll. In the same vein, Watkins Family Hour includes Fiona Apple and Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers keyboardist Benmont Tench. The album is set to feature all covers, with highlights including Sean taking on “Not in Nottingham” from the 1973 Disney film Robin Hood and Sara covering Fleetwood Mac’s “Steal Your Heart Away”.

A tour has also been mapped out to support the record. The Family’s live performance has been heralded by the Los Angeles Times as a “variety show of epic proportions,” and the group is looking to keep that same energy on the road. Sara Watkins said that the performers would likely be rotating from city to city, remarking, “We are being thoughtful about where we are going so we can have that sort of flexibility. It will be a very different show in every town.” With most cities playing host to two-night stands, the possibilities are tantalizing.

Preview “Steal Your Heart Away” below, and check out the track list and tour dates — which kick off with a stop at Newport Folk Fest — underneath.

Watkins Family Hour Track List:
01. Feelin’ Good Again (written by Robert Earl Keen, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
02. Where I Ought To Be (written by Harlan Howard, lead vocals by Fiona Apple and Sara Watkins)
03. Not In Nottingham (written by Roger Miller, lead vocals by Sean Watkins)
04. Steal Your Heart Away (written by Lindsey Buckingham, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
05. Prescription for the Blues (written by Saunders Montgomery, lead vocals by Benmont Tench)
06. Going Going Gone (written by Bob Dylan, lead vocals by Sean Watkins)
07. Hop High (traditional, arranged by Watkins Family Hour, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
08. She Thinks I Still Care (written by Dickey Lee Lipscomb, lead vocals by Sebastian Steinberg)
09. The King of the 12 Oz. Bottles (written by Lee Ving, lead vocals by Don Heffington)
10. Early Morning Rain (written by Gordon Lightfoot, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
11. Brokedown Palace (written by Robert C. Hunter and Jerry Garcia, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)
Watkins Family Hour Tour Dates:
 07/24 – Newport, RI @ Newport Folk Festival
07/28 – New York, NY @ City Winery
07/29 – New York, NY @ City Winery
08/01 – Nashville, TN @ City Winery
08/02 – Nashville, TN @ City Winery
08/05 – Chicago, IL @ Old Town School of Folk
08/06 – Chicago, IL @ Old Town School of Folk
08/14 – Berkeley, CA @ Freight & Salvage
08/15 – Berkeley, CA @ Freight & Salvage
08/21 – Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater
08/22 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern
08/23 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern